Faculty honors

National Academy of Engineering »

Election to National Academy of Engineering membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in their field and are elected to NAE membership by their peers.


  • James Riley, 2014
  • George Homsy, 2006
  • Albert S. Kobayashi, 1986

Washington State Academy of Sciences »

The Washington State Academy of Sciences provides expert scientific and engineering analysis. Members are nominated and elected by their peers, either directly into the WSAS or by virtue of election to the National Academies.


  • Ramulu Mamidala, 2015
  • Minoru Taya, 2013
  • James Riley, 2012
  • Albert Kobayashi


The NSF Faculty Early Career Development program supports junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education, and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.


  • Katherine Steele, 2015
  • Jae-hyun Chung, 2009
  • Nathan Sniadecki, 2009
  • Junlan Wang, 2009
  • Alberto Aliseda, 2008
  • Jonathan Posner, 2008

DARPA Young Faculty Award »

The DARPA Young Faculty Award engages rising research stars in junior faculty positions at U.S. academic institutions, providing funding and mentoring to awardees early in their careers.


  • Nathan Sniadecki, 2011

Army Research Office Young Investigator Award »

The Army Young Investigator Program awards are one of the most prestigious honors bestowed by the Army to outstanding scientists beginning their independent careers.


  • Nicholas Boechler, 2015

ASME Fellows »

The ASME Committee of Past Presidents confers the Fellow grade of membership on worthy candidates to recognize their outstanding engineering achievements.


  • Santosh Devasia, 2012
  • Steve Shen, 2007
  • Jim Riley, 2004
  • Ramulu Mamidala, 1995
  • Albert Kobayashi, 1987
  • Ashley Emery, 1982