You are here

» Mechanical Engineering Faculty Directory
Bookmark and Share

Mechanical Engineering Faculty Directory

Primary Faculty   Adjunct Faculty   Affiliate Faculty   Emeritus Faculty

Search for a faculty member in any list by clicking Ctrl+F (Windows) or Command+F (Mac) and typing all or part of the faculty member's name.

Primary Faculty

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  V  W  X  Y  Z 

  Name & Position Research Areas
Alberto Aliseda Alberto Aliseda
Associate Professor
206-543-4910
aaliseda@uw.edu

Fluid Mechanics
Dynamics of multiphase flows
Gas exchange between atmosphere and ocean
atomization of liquids in combustion
Michael Bailey Michael Bailey
Assistant Professor
206-685-8618
bailey@apl.washington.edu

Medical ultrasound, Acoustic cavitation, The role of cavitation in lithotripsy (kidney stone treatment) and ultrasound surgery
Martin Berg Martin Berg
Associate Professor
206-543-5288
berg@uw.edu

Control system design (involving feedback, feedforward and supervisory controllers)
Continuous-time, discrete-time, and discrete event dynamic systems
Dynamic system modeling, analysis, and design
Nicholas Boechler Nicholas Boechler
Assistant Professor
404-805-1687
boechler@uw.edu

Mechanics of materials
Photoacoustics
Nonlinear dynamics
Phononic crystals and metamaterials
Dynamics of micro/nanostructures
Gador Canton Gãdor Cantón
Research Assistant Professor
206-543-9038
gcanton@uw.edu

Biomechanics in cardiovascular diseases, flow dynamics in normal and pathological physiological processes, cardiovascular imaging
Randal Ching Randal Ching
Research Associate Professor
206-625-0756
rc@uw.edu

Biomechanics of the human musculoskeletal system focusing on injury biomechanics and prevention strategies, and the testing/evaluation of medical implants and surgical procedures.
Jae-Hyun Chung Jae-Hyun Chung
Associate Professor
206-543-4355
jae71@uw.edu

MEMS/Nanotechnology
Micro/Nano Structures
Electric field guided nanowire assembly
Reactive Ion Etching assisted nanopore fabrication
Joyce Cooper Joyce Cooper
Associate Professor
206-543-5040
cooperjs@uw.edu

Design for Environment (DFE) methodologies and models
Innovative, sustainable, and concurrent technology development, design, and dissemination
life-cycle assessment (LCA) and environmental performance measurement
Industrial Ecology
Peter Dahl Peter Dahl
Professor
206-543-2667
dahl@apl.washington.edu

Acoustic propagation in shallow water
Acoustic vector intensity and spatial coherence
Underwater industrial noise
Arctic underwater acoustics
Santosh Devasia Santosh Devasia
Professor
206-685-3401
devasia@uw.edu

"Controls, dynamics, and mechantronics"
Ultra-high-density information storage
Nano-fabrication
Bio-instrumentation
Distributed autonomous systems
Ashley Emery Ashley Emery
Professor
206-543-5338
emery@uw.edu

Architectural heat transfer
Finite Element Methods
Numerical analysis
Thermal stresses
Bayesian Inference
Sparse Grids and Proper Orthogonal Decomposition
Brian Fabien Brian Fabien
Professor
206-543-6915
fabien@uw.edu

Kinematics of mechanisms
Dynamic system analysis and optimization
Control system design
Mark Ganter Mark Ganter
Professor
206-543-5487
ganter@uw.edu

Implicit solid modeling
Layered manufacturing
Extension of techniques for skeleton generation
Fusion of multi-spectral vision images
Dayong Gao Dayong Gao
Professor
206-543-1411
dayong@uw.edu

Thermal/fluid science
Biomedical engineering
Cryobiology
Bio-heat-mass transfer
Joseph Garbini Joseph Garbini
Professor
James Morrison Chair
206-543-5399
garbini@uw.edu

Analysis design
Control of dynamic systems
Mechatronics
Instrumentation
Julia Jones Julia Jones
Senior Lecturer
206-543-5238
jhjones@uw.edu

 
Sooyeun Kim Sooyeun Kim
Research Assistant Professor
206-543-5388 (office)
206-685-7920 (lab)
sooyeunk@uw.edu

Electro/photo-active materials and devices,
Electrochromic materials, color-switchable dye-sensitizers,
Ion storage materials, electrolytes,
Energy saving electrochromic windows (ECWs) and energy harvesting ECW,
Dye-sensitized solar cells
John Kramlich John Kramlich
Professor
206-543-5538
kramlich@uw.edu

Energy conversion systems
Combustion and pollutants/environmental control
Turbulent reacting flows
Biofuel combustion properties and emissions
Gas turbine combustors: alternate fuels and emissions
Vipin Kumar Vipin Kumar
Professor
206-543-5535
vkumar@uw.edu

Polymeric Composites
Microcellular Composites
Design and manufacturing
Product and process design
Characterization and processing of polymeric composites
Jiangyu Li Jiangyu Li
Professor
206-543-6226
jjli@uw.edu

Physical behaviors of materials
Structure-property relationship of multifunctional materials
Electroactive polymers
Ferroelectrics
Ferromagnetism
Jonathan T.C. Liu Jonathan T.C. Liu
Assistant Professor
(Effective Fall 2014)
631-632-1727 (temp)
jonliu@stanfordalumni.org

Biomedical optics, molecular imaging, image-guided interventions, cancer detection, endoscopic imaging, endomicroscopy, molecular contrast agents, point-of-care diagnostics, in vivo microscopy, spectral imaging, SERS nanoparticles
Philip Malte Philip Malte
Professor
206-685-2171
malte@uw.edu

Energy and environmental combustion
Low-emission combustion
Computational Fluid Dynamics
Chemical reactor networks
Ramulu Mamidala Ramulu Mamidala
Boeing-Pennell Professor
206-543-5349
ramulum@uw.edu

Mechanics of Materials
Modeling Manufacturing Processes & Surface Integrity
Machining & drilling Science of Composite Materials
Micro-mechanics
Fracture Mechanics & Fatigue
Ann Mescher Ann Mescher
Associate Professor
206-616-8517
mescher@uw.edu

Energy transport and phenomena during processing
Processes for advanced manufacturing applications
Introduce interdisciplinary design projects in consultation with industry
Brian Polagye Brian Polagye
Assistant Professor
206-543-7544
bpolagye@uw.edu

Sustainable electricity generation from kinetic energy in moving water
Characterization and monitoring of tidal energy sites
Tidal energy micropower for instrumentation
Jonathan Posner Jonathan Posner
Bryan T. McMinn Endowed Associate Professor
206-543-9834
jposner@uw.edu

Micron- and nanometer-length scale fluid dynamics
Transport physics at the interface of chemistry, biology and the environment.
Per Reinhall Per Reinhall
Professor and Department Chair
206-685-6665
reinhall@uw.edu

Dynamical systems
Fluid-structure interaction
Acoustics
Vibration and noise control
Biomechanics
Medical devices
Sensors and actuators
James Riley James Riley
PACCAR Professor
206-543-5347
rileyj@uw.edu

Transitioning and turbulent flows
Two-phase flows
Boundary layer transition
Free shear flows
Chemically reacting flows
Eric Seibel Eric Seibel
Research Professor
206-616-1486
eseibel@uw.edu

Optical scanning for image acquisition and display
Biomedical device and instrumentation
Early detection and treatment of cancer
Amy Shen Amy Shen
Associate Professor
206-221-0372
amyshen@uw.edu

Microfluidics
Complex Fluids (polymers, colloids, surfactants, liquid crystals, and biofluids)
Rheology and Interfacial Dynamics
Biomaterials and Biosensors
Biomimetics
Applications: medical and clinical applications, oil recovery, personal care and food products
Steve Shen Steve Shen
Professor
206-543-5718
ishen@uw.edu

Vibration and Dynamics
PZT Thin-Film Sensors and Actuators
Intracochlear Microphones and Acoustic Actuators
Rotor Dynamics
Disk Drive Dynamics
Damping Technologies
Bearing Diagnosis and Identification
Nathan Sniadecki Nathan Sniadecki
Albert Kobayashi Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
206-685-6591
nsniadec@uw.edu

Mechanobiology
Bio-instrumentation
BioMEMS
Cell Mechanics
Nanotechnology
Microfabrication
Soft Lithography
Katherine Steele Katherine Steele
Assistant Professor
kmsteele@uw.edu

Biomechanics
Dynamics
Duane Storti Duane Storti
Associate Professor
206-543-2956
storti@uw.edu

Computational manufacturing and design
Innovative mathematical foundations for geometric design
Implicit solid modeling
Rapid prototyping
Geometry characterization
Minoru Taya Minoru Taya
Nabtesco Endowed Chair in Mechanical Engineering
206-685-2850
tayam@uw.edu

Energy harvesting materials and devices
Composite Materials
Percolation Theory
Dislocation Theory
Electronic Composites
Processing of Composites
Shape memory alloys (SMA)
Ferromagnetic SMA
Piezocomposites
Designed actuators
Electrochromic windows(ECW) and energy-harvesting ECW
Bioinspired active and sensing materials and devices
Mark Tuttle Mark Tuttle
Professor
206-543-5710
tuttle@uw.edu

Applied solid mechanics
Viscoelasticity
Composite Materials
Adhesion mechanics
Alexander Veress Alexander Veress
Research Assistant Professor
206-543-6933
averess@uw.edu

Soft tissue
Cardiac mechanics
Deformation in soft tissue
Combining finite element models with imaging phantoms
Junlan Wang Junlan Wang
Associate Professor
206-543-4601
junlan@uw.edu

Mechanics of materials
Thin films and coatings, nanoporous materials, biomaterials
Mechanical, interfacial and surface properties
High strain-rate behavior
Wei-Chih Wang Wei-Chih Wang
Research Associate Professor
206-543-2479
abong@uw.edu

Optical MEMS
Fiber optic sensors
Thz devices
Metamaterials
Active polymers
Biomedical instrumentation

 

Adjunct and Joint Faculty

Name Adjunct Department or Organization
Adam M. Alessio Adam M. Alessio Radiology
Karl F. Bohringer Karl F. Bohringer Electrical Engineering
Lucien N. Brush Lucien N. Brush Materials Science & Engineering
Guozhong Cao Guozhong Cao Materials Science & Engineering
Peter R. Cavanagh Peter R. Cavanagh Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine
Dana Dabiri Dana Dabiri Aeronautics & Astronautics
James Fridley James Fridley Joint with Forest Management and Engineering
Albert Folch Albert Folch Bioengineering
James C. Hermanson James C. Hermanson Aeronautics & Astronautics
Ronald Y. Kwon Ronald Y. Kwon Orthopaedics
Eli Livne Eli Livne Aeronautics & Astronautics
Jose Lopez Jose Lopez Hematology
Alexander Mamishev Alexander Mamishev Electrical Engineering
Matthew O'Donnell Matthew O'Donnell Bioengineering
Joan E. Sanders Joan E. Sanders Bioengineering
Sundar Srinivasan Sundar Srinivasan Orthopaedics
Wendy E. Thomas Wendy E. Thomas Bioengineering
James M. Thomsons James M. Thomson Civil & Environmental Engineering
Karl Vesper Karl Vesper Joint with Management and Organization
Nathan White Nathan White Emergency Medicine
Zelda B. Zabinsky Zelda B. Zabinsky Industrial Science & Engineering

 

Affiliate Faculty

Name Affiliation
Daan Hein Alsem Hummingbird Scientific
Patrick Aubin Seattle VA Hospital
Ryland Bryant VisionGate, Inc.
Bijan Dorri GE Healthcare
Daniel Einstein Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
Keith E. Elder Affiliate Faculty
Mohamed Hashish Flow International Corp.
Jon W. Hayenga VisionGate, Inc.
George Homsy Professor Emeritus, University of British Columbia
Joseph M. Iaquinto Department of Veterans Affairs
Jeong-Beom Ihn The Boeing Company
Scott Johnston The Boeing Company
Randy K. Kent MDE Inc.
Michael Kintner-Meyer Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
Glenn K. Klute Seattle VA Hospital
Christy Lancaster VisionGate, Inc.
William R. Ledoux Seattle VA Hospital
Kyong-Hoon Lee NanoFacture, Inc.
Gregory S. Mason Seattle University
David Motto Puget Sound Blood Center
Leonard Y. Nelson
Thomas Neumann VisionGate, Inc.
Igor Novosselov Affiliate Assistant Professor
Jorge A. Ochoa Archus Orthopedics, Inc.
Eric Rombokas Seattle VA Hospital
Makoto Saito Nabtesco Corporation
Daniel G. Sanders The Boeing Company
Robert R. Scheibe GT Engineering
Brian T. Schowengerdt Human Interface Technology Lab (HITLab)
Amy Shen University of Okinawa
Teodora R. Shuman Seattle University
John A. Sidles UW Orthopaedics
Fred Silverstein UW Medicine
David E. Steinhauer VisionGate, Inc.
Anna Touorovskaia VisionGate, Inc.
Steven Weidner Program Navigators, Inc.
John E. Weller Janicki Industries
Chunye Xu University of Science & Technology of China
Gang Zhao University of Science and Technology, China

 

Emeritus Faculty

Adee, Bruce
Alexander, Daniel
Balise, Peter
Bodoia, John
Chalk, William
Chalupnik, James
Collins, James
Corlett, Richard
Daly, Colin
Day, Emmett
Depew, Creighton
Ford, Paul
Forster, Fred
Galle, Kurt
Gessner, Fred
Holt, Richard

Hyman, Barry
Jorgensen, Jens
Kieling, William
Kippenhan, Charles
Kobayashi, Albert
Love, William
McCormick, Norman
Pratt, David
Sherrer, Robert
Sandwith, Colin
Taggart, Raymond
Wilson, William