Skip to main content

About Us

External advisory board

Composed of distinguished alumni and friends of the Department, the Mechanical Engineering External Advisory Board provides counsel to faculty, mentoring to students, volunteer leadership in experiential-learning programs, advocacy for the Department and vital connections to industry.

External Advisory Board members are appointed to a term of up to 3 years by the ME Department Chair. Upon completion of the term, a member may be reappointed at the discretion of the ME department Chair.

Current board members

Name Affiliation
Brian Allen CEO, ATS Automation
Tami Bond Professor, ME and CEE, Colorado State University
Anders Brown President, Cleargrain Advisors
Justin Brynestad Senior Director, Program Management, Blue Origin
Jason Cooke Principal Sales Representative, Medtronics,
Tracy Daly Director, Production Engineering, Boeing
Paul Edwards Director, Materials Engineering, Tesla
Dan Ervin Executive VP, Varius Inc.
MJ Harbert M.D. Neonatal Neurologist, Director of Neonatal and Perinatal Neurology, Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women and Newborns
Allison Headlee Director, Programs-Engineering Services, LMI Aerospace
Ben Hempstead Director of Technical Services, Teague
Jason Johnson Director of Aftermarket, PACCAR Inc.
Mekonnen Kassa Senior Director, Cloud Security Engineering, Microsoft
David Kim Director of iPhone Manufacturing Design Engineering, Apple
Sun Kim Owner and Consultant, SGK Consulting
Joseph Lui Managing Director, Global Robotics Practice Lead, Industry X, Accenture
Colleen McClure Engineering Senior Manager, retired, The Boeing Company
External Advisory Board Chair
Jocelyne Mekontso VP & GM, General Imaging Ultrasound at Philips
Nyle Miyamoto Senior Director, Airplane Level Integration, The Boeing Company
Boeing Executive Focal for UW ME
Rae Anne Rushing CEO and President, Rushing
Angela Templin Vice President, Government Sector Lead, Glumac, Inc.
Jon Yourkoski Managing Director, Morgan Stanley & Co., Investment Banking