Skip to main content

News & Events

Congratulations to the class of 2024

June 12, 2024

ME celebrated 2024 graduates with a ceremony and celebration on June 9. This year, ME awarded 198 bachelor’s, 131 master’s and 26 doctoral degrees.

Aerial shot of faculty and students wearing robes standing in front of a building

Faculty members and a group of 2024 graduates.

Anders Brown stands behind the podium and speaks into a microphone.

Graduation speaker Anders Brown (BSME ’92, MSME ’94)

Thank you to this year’s graduation speaker, Anders Brown (BSME ’92, MSME ’94), operating partner with GLP Capital Partners (GCP), who spoke about the importance of staying curious throughout one’s career. Brown is an experienced executive and business operator, having built and scaled businesses at the intersection of software, hardware and new markets. He has a broad range of sales, marketing, engineering and operational experience across the U.S., Asia and Europe, including a wide range of work with corporate financings such as acquisitions, joint ventures and IPOs.

We also thank speakers ME Chair and PACCAR Endowed Professor Alberto Aliseda, John Winans Armstrong V (BSME ‘24), Ian Good (PhD ‘24), and ME Professor John Kramlich.

ME faculty stand with a group of 2024 graduates onstage.

Faculty members and 2024 student award winners.

2024 student awards

Undergraduate awards

  • Outstanding Academic Award: Lily Raylyn Nordyke & Cameron Reed Mains
  • Outstanding Research Award: Victoria Michele Landrum
  • Student Ambassador Award: Hannah Han Nguyen
  • Outstanding Design Award: Beckett Reid, Heesoo Suh, Waris Asavalahaphun, Julius Wichert, Peter May
  • The Social Justice Award: Vattanary Tevy & Kellan Kazuo Yoshikawa

Graduate awards

  • ME Distinguished Dissertation Award: Charlotte Caskey
  • ME Distinguished Thesis Award: Arun Nandagopal
  • ME Excellent Project Award: Nina Mao
  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Ruidong Ma and Daksh Dhingra