People

Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

  Faculty member Research interests
Alberto Aliseda Alberto Aliseda
Associate Professor
  206-543-4910
  aaliseda@uw.edu
  MEB 306
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Dynamics of multiphase flows
  • Gas exchange between atmosphere and ocean
  • Atomization of liquids in combustion
Michael Bailey Michael Bailey
Associate Professor
  206-685-8618
  bailey@apl.washington.edu
  PBB 110
  • Medical ultrasound
  • Acoustic cavitation
  • The role of cavitation in lithotripsy (kidney stone treatment) and ultrasound surgery
Ashis Banerjee Ashis Banerjee
Assistant Professor
(Joint with ISE)
  206-543-5388
  ashisb@uw.edu
  MEB 222
  • Biological robots
  • Predictive data analytics
  • Digital manufacturing
Martin Berg Martin Berg
Associate Professor
  206-543-5288
  berg@uw.edu
  MEB 311
  • Control system design
  • Continuous-time, discrete-time, and discrete event dynamic systems
  • Dynamic system modeling, analysis, and design
Steve Brunton Steve Brunton
Assistant Professor
  206-221-0372
  sbrunton@uw.edu
  MEB 305
  • Dimensionality reduction and reduced-order models
  • Adaptive and robust control for energy optimization and fluid systems
  • Data science and machine learning
Gador Canton Gador Canton
Research Assistant Professor
  206-543-9038
  gcanton@uw.edu
  MEB 261
  • Biomechanics in cardiovascular diseases
  • Flow dynamics in normal and pathological physiological processes
  • Cardiovascular imaging
Jae-Hyun Chung Jae-Hyun Chung
Associate Professor
  206-543-4355
  jae71@uw.edu
  MEB 303
  • MEMS/Nanotechnology
  • Nanostructured sensors
  • Nanostructured biosensors
  • Flexible electronics/devices
Corie L. Cobb Corie L. Cobb
Associate Professor
  206-543-5449
  clcobb@uw.edu
  MEB 224
  • Advanced and additive manufacturing
  • Lithium-ion batteries
  • Materials engineering
  • Computational design synthesis
  • Stochastic optimization
  • New product development
Joyce Cooper Joyce Cooper
Professor
  206-543-5040
  cooperjs@uw.edu
  MEB 304
  • Life cycle assessment
  • Design for environment
  • Industrial ecology
  • Data repositories
Peter Dahl Peter Dahl
Professor
  206-543-2667
  dahl@apl.washington.edu
  Henderson Hall 283
  • Underwater acoustics
  • Vector acoustics
  • Underwater noise from pile driving and explosives
  • Acoustic signal processing
Santosh Devasia Santosh Devasia
Professor
  206-685-3401
  devasia@uw.edu
  MEB 326
  • Human-machine systems
  • Robotics and prosthesis
  • Iterative control
  • Air traffic control
Ashley Emery Ashley Emery
Professor
  206-543-5338
  emery@uw.edu
  MEB 215
  • Architectural heat transfer
  • Finite element methods
  • Numerical analysis
  • Thermal stresses
  • Bayesian inference
  • Sparse grids and proper orthogonal decomposition
Brian Fabien Brian Fabien
Professor
  206-543-6915
  fabien@uw.edu
  MEB 322
  • Optimal control
  • Kinematics of mechanisms
  • Dynamic system analysis and optimization
  • Hybrid and electric vehicles
Sawyer Fuller Sawyer Fuller
Assistant Professor
  206-543-5488
  minster@uw.edu
  MEB 321

  • Insect flight control and robotics
  • Biomechanics and robotics of animal motion
  • Millimeter-scale fabrication
Mark Ganter Mark Ganter
Professor
  ganter@uw.edu
  MEB 310
  • Implicit solid modeling
  • Layered manufacturing
  • Extension of techniques for skeleton generation
  • Applied computation geometry for solution of engineering and art problems
Dayong Gao Dayong Gao
Origincell Endowed Professor
  206-543-1411
  dayong@uw.edu
  MEB 254
  • Cryopreservation and biobanking technology and engineering
  • Fundamental and applied cryobiology
  • Bio-instruments, bio-MEMS, bio-sensors, and advanced bio-materials
  • Artificial kidney and liver
Joseph Garbini Joseph Garbini
James Morrison Endowed Professor
  206-543-5399
  garbini@uw.edu
  MEB 216
  • Analysis design
  • Control of dynamic systems
  • Mechatronics
  • Instrumentation
Julia Jones Julia Jones
Senior Lecturer
  206-543-5238
  jhjones@uw.edu
  MEB 204
 
John Kramlich John Kramlich
Professor
  206-543-5538
  kramlich@uw.edu
  MEB 319
  • Energy conversion systems
  • Combustion and pollutants/environmental control
  • Turbulent reacting flows
  • Biofuel combustion properties and emissions
  • Gas turbine combustors: alternate fuels and emissions
  • Biomass cookstoves
Vipin Kumar Vipin Kumar
Professor
  206-543-5535
  vkumar@uw.edu
  MEB 312
  • Polymeric composites
  • Microcellular composites
  • Design and manufacturing
  • Product and process design
  • Characterization and processing of polymeric composites
Jiangyu Li Jiangyu Li
Professor
  206-543-6226
  jjli@uw.edu
  MEB 205
  • Mechanics and physics of solids
  • Advanced materials
  • Scanning probe microscopy
  • Phase field simulations
Jonathan T.C. Liu Jonathan T.C. Liu
Bryan T. McMinn Endowed Associate Professor
  206-543-5339
  jonliu@uw.edu
  MEB 207
  • Biomedical and molecular imaging
  • Cancer detection
  • Molecular contrast agents and nanoparticles
  • Point-of-care diagnostics
  • Slide-free nondestructive molecular 3D pathology
Devin MacKenzie Devin MacKenzie
Associate Professor
(Joint with MSE)
  206-221-0309
  jdmacken@uw.edu
  Roberts Hall 302J
  • Printed electronics
  • Flexible electronics
  • Advanced manufacturing
  • Roll to roll manufacturing
  • Photovoltaics
  • Batteries
Philip Malte Philip Malte
Professor
  206-685-2171
  malte@uw.edu
  MEB 315
  • Energy and environmental combustion
  • Low-emission combustion
  • Chemical reactor networks
Ramulu Mamidala Ramulu Mamidala
Boeing-Pennell Endowed Professor
  206-543-5349
  ramulum@uw.edu
  MEB 320
  • Mechanics of materials
  • Modeling manufacturing processes & surface integrity
  • Machining & drilling science of composite materials
  • Micro-mechanics
  • Fracture mechanics & fatigue
Ann Mescher Ann Mescher
Associate Professor
  206-616-8517
  mescher@uw.edu
  MEB 324
  • Energy transport and phenomena during processing
  • Processes for advanced manufacturing applications
  • Introduce interdisciplinary design projects in consultation with industry
Igor Novosselov Igor Novosselov
Research Assistant Professor
  206-543-5248
  ivn@uw.edu
  MEB 309
  • Interaction between particle-surface-flow
  • Chemical kinetics in supercritical water environment
  • Biological and chemical aerosols
  • Single step flame synthesis of nanostructured materials
  • Model-based controls of combustion systems
Brian Polagye Brian Polagye
Associate Professor
  206-543-7544
  bpolagye@uw.edu
  MEB 302
  • Experimental and field optimization of marine renewable energy conversion systems
  • Development and application of instrumentation suitable for characterizing marine renewable energy environments
Jonathan Posner Jonathan Posner
Professor
  206-543-9834
  jposner@uw.edu
  MEB 307
  • Point-of-care diagnostics
  • Microfluidics
  • Clean cookstoves
  • Medical devices
Per Reinhall Per Reinhall
Professor and Department Chair
  206-685-6665
  reinhall@uw.edu
  MEB 143
  • Dynamical systems
  • Fluid-structure interaction
  • Acoustics
  • Vibration and noise control
  • Biomechanics and medical devices
Jim Riley Jim Riley
PACCAR Endowed Professor
  206-543-5347
  rileyj@uw.edu
  MEB 314
  • Transitioning and turbulent flows
  • Two-phase flows
  • Boundary layer transition
  • Free shear flows
  • Chemically reacting flows
  • Geophysical flows
Eric Seibel Eric Seibel
Research Professor
  206-616-1486
  eseibel@uw.edu
  Fluke Hall 204
  • Optical scanning for image acquisition and display
  • Biomedical device and instrumentation
  • Early detection and treatment of cancer
  • 3D image reconstruction and metrology
Steve Shen Steve Shen
Professor
  206-543-5718
  ishen@uw.edu
  MEB 313
  • PZT-silane nano-composite thin-film sensors and actuators
  • Intracochlear microphones and acoustic actuators
  • Biological and health systems dynamics
  • Rotor dynamics (e.g., disks, blades, propellers, turbines, disk drives)
Nathan Sniadecki Nathan Sniadecki
Associate Professor
  206-685-6591
  nsniadec@uw.edu
  MEB 318
  • Mechanobiology
  • BioMEMS
  • Cell mechanics
  • Soft lithography
Kat Steele Kat Steele
Albert S. Kobayashi Endowed Assistant Professor
  206-685-2390
  kmsteele@uw.edu
  MEB 323
  • Human movement
  • Neuromuscular control
  • Neurologic injury: cerebral palsy, stroke
  • Wearable devices
  • Orthoses & exoskeletons
Duane Storti Duane Storti
Professor
  206-543-2956
  storti@uw.edu
  MEB 308
  • Computational manufacturing and design
  • Innovative mathematical foundations for geometric design
  • Implicit solid modeling
  • Rapid prototyping
  • Geometry characterization
Minoru Taya Minoru Taya
Nabtesco Endowed Professor
  206-685-2850
  tayam@uw.edu
  MEB 263
  • Energy harvesting materials and devices; electrochromic windows
  • Composite materials and shape memory alloys
  • Percolation theory and dislocation theory
  • Designed actuators
  • Othodontic actuator
Mark Tuttle Mark Tuttle
Professor
  206-543-5710
  tuttle@uw.edu
  MEB 210
  • Applied solid mechanics
  • Viscoelasticity
  • Composite materials
  • Adhesion mechanics
Junlan Wang Junlan Wang
Associate Professor
  206-543-4601
  junlan@uw.edu
  MEB 208
  • Mechanics of materials
  • Thin films and coatings, nanoporous materials, biomaterials
  • Mechanical, interfacial and surface properties
  • High strain-rate behavior